how to identify circuit breaker type



Circuit breakers are essential components of electrical systems as they protect them from overloads and short circuits. However, when it comes to maintaining or upgrading these systems, it is crucial to identify the type of circuit breaker being used. This knowledge enables electricians and homeowners to make informed decisions about repairs, replacements, or updates to the electrical infrastructure. This article aims to guide you through the process of identifying different types of circuit breakers, their unique characteristics, and their applications.

Identifying Circuit Breaker Types: A Comprehensive Guide

1. Standard Circuit Breakers

Standard circuit breakers are the most common type used in residential and commercial buildings. These breakers are designed to protect electrical circuits from overloading and short circuits. They are typically installed in distribution panels or breaker boxes that connect to different parts of the building's electrical system.

Standard circuit breakers come in different configurations, including single-pole, double-pole, and triple-pole. Single-pole breakers are the most common type and are used for protecting circuits that handle 120 volts of electricity. Double-pole breakers, on the other hand, are designed to handle 240 volts and are commonly used for appliances such as dryers and electric heaters. Triple-pole breakers are used for larger appliances or equipment that require three phases.

When identifying a standard circuit breaker, look for its uniform shape with a toggle switch. The toggle switch positioning can vary, displaying either "ON" or "OFF." Additionally, standard breakers often have a small window that allows you to see the status of the breaker, indicating whether it has tripped or not.

2. GFCI Circuit Breakers

Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter (GFCI) circuit breakers are specifically designed to protect against electrical shocks, especially in areas where water is present, such as kitchens, bathrooms, and outdoor outlets. GFCI breakers monitor the flow of electricity and quickly shut off the power if an imbalance is detected, preventing harm to people or animals.

To identify a GFCI circuit breaker, look for the "Test" and "Reset" buttons usually present on the breaker itself or the outlet it protects. These buttons allow you to manually test and reset the breaker after it trips. Additionally, GFCI breakers often have a built-in indicator light that illuminates when the breaker is functioning correctly.

3. AFCI Circuit Breakers

Arc Fault Circuit Interrupter (AFCI) circuit breakers are designed to detect and prevent arc faults, which are electrical malfunctions that can cause fires. These breakers continuously monitor the electrical current flowing through the circuit and quickly interrupt the power in the event of an arc fault.

To identify an AFCI circuit breaker, firstly, check if the breaker has a "Test" button similar to GFCI breakers. This button allows you to simulate an arc fault for testing purposes. Additionally, AFCI breakers often have a combination of colors, such as white and purple or white and blue, indicating their specific arc fault detection capabilities.

4. Combination AFCI + GFCI Circuit Breakers

Combination AFCI + GFCI circuit breakers offer the benefits of both AFCI and GFCI protection in a single unit. These breakers provide enhanced safety by protecting against electrical fires caused by arc faults and electrical shocks from ground faults simultaneously.

Identifying a combination AFCI + GFCI circuit breaker can be similar to identifying individual AFCI or GFCI breakers. Look for the presence of both the "Test" and "Reset" buttons as well as any coloring or labeling that indicates combined functionality.

5. High Current Circuit Breakers

High current circuit breakers, also known as high amperage or high power circuit breakers, are used for large electrical systems that handle substantial amounts of current. These breakers are designed to protect heavy-duty equipment, such as power distribution units, generators, and industrial machinery.

Identifying high current circuit breakers can be challenging because they often have unique physical characteristics specific to their manufacturer. However, some common features to look for include larger frame sizes, higher amperage ratings, and more robust construction compared to standard circuit breakers.


Identifying the type of circuit breaker in your electrical system is crucial for various reasons, including safety, troubleshooting, and upgrading purposes. This article has provided a comprehensive guide to help you identify different types of circuit breakers, including standard, GFCI, AFCI, combination AFCI + GFCI, and high current circuit breakers. Remember to check for visual indicators, such as toggle switches, buttons, indicator lights, and specific colorations, to determine the type of circuit breaker you are dealing with. By understanding the different types and their applications, you can ensure the proper functioning and protection of your electrical system.


Just tell us your requirements, we can do more than you can imagine.
Send your inquiry

Send your inquiry

Choose a different language
Current language:English